Handpicked Kindle Books for May 28 Judged by Their Covers

Today’s Picks – Best Handpicked Kindle eBooks – Grab Bag Thursday

Here are our eBook picks for Thursday, May 28. Today we’re featuring books from a variety of genres. Enjoy!


Judgment: A Cassidy & Spenser Thriller by Carey Baldwin







Genre(s): Mystery

A Suspense Magazine “Best Books of 2014″ Carey Baldwin, author of the hit novel Confession, returns with a new story featuring two of her most beloved characters. Fans of Tess Gerritsen and Lisa Gardner will devour this riveting story of rivals caught in a killer’s twisted web.When a coed falls prey to a sadistic murderer, forensic psychiatrist Dr. Caitlin “Caity” Cassidy and FBI profiler, Special Agent Atticus Spenser, are called in to testify–one for the defense, one for the prosecution. With warring approaches to justice, these two rivals have been butting heads for years–both inside the courtroom… (more)


The Year We Fell Down by Sarina Bowen







Genre(s): YA

The sport she loves is out of reach. The boy she loves has someone else. What now? She expected to start Harkness College as a varsity ice hockey player. But a serious accident means that Corey Callahan will start school in a wheelchair instead.Across the hall, in the other handicapped-accessible dorm room, lives the too-delicious-to-be real Adam Hartley, another would-be hockey star with his leg broken in two places. He’s way out of Corey’s league.Also, he’s taken.Nevertheless, an unlikely alliance blooms between Corey and Hartley in the “gimp ghetto” of McHerrin Hall… (more)


Seven Unholy Days: A Thriller by Jerry Hatchett







Genre(s): Thriller

CAN ONE MAN BRING ABOUT ARMAGEDDON? CAN ONE MAN STOP HIM? Tech celebrity Matt Decker is on top of the world. Then the computerized U.S. power grid that he designed suffers a cyber-attack that was supposed to be impossible. The United States is in chaos. People are dying. And the trouble is only beginning.Praise from international bestseller James Rollins:”A simple glitch in a power grid heralds the beginning of a madman’s scheme to bring about a biblical apocalypse. Written in a staccato style that will leave readers breathless and flipping pages long into the night, Hatchett’s… novel… (more)


Eyes of the Hammer: The Green Berets by Bob Mayer







Genre(s): Thriller

From NY Times Bestselling Author, Amazon top 25 Author, former Green Beret and West Point Graduate, Bob Mayer.”A scorcher of a novel.Mayer had me hooked from the very first page.”Stephen CoontsWhat if US Army Green Berets led by Dave Riley must take on not only criminal drug traffickers but also betray their own government? A US Army Special Forces team carrying sterilized weapons and unmarked uniforms is on its way to Colombia.The mission: conduct covert, unilateral raids to destroy cocaine processing laboratories.Of course nothing is as it seems especially once the CIA gets involved.Throw in an… (more)


Forty Days at Kamas by Preston Fleming







Genre(s): Sci-fi

A brutal portrait of a dystopian America, full of dramatic irony and shocking revelation.”KIRKUS REVIEWSInspired by Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn’s account of a Soviet labor camp revolt in Gulag Archipelago, Volume III, the story of FORTY DAYS AT KAMAS follows political prisoners and security officials at a corrective labor camp in Kamas, Utah, where inmates seize control during the summer of 2024.Kamas, Utah. 2024. In the totalitarian dystopia that America has become after the Unionist Party’s rise to power, the American West contains vast Restricted Zones dotted with ghost towns, scattered military garrisons and corrective labor camps where the… (more)


3:AM Kisses by Addison Moore







Genre(s): Romance

From the NEW YORK TIMES and USA TODAY bestselling author, Addison Moore:Romantic ComedyCosmopolitan Magazine calls Addison’s books…easy, frothy fun! 3:AM Kisses ~First base never felt so good!~3:AM Kisses is a USA Today Bestseller!Baya Brighton is looking forward to her first year at Whitney Briggs University, new friends, dorm life, and finally being close to her brother again. Love is the last thing on the list, but when Baya meets her brother’s roommate she begins to have thoughts and feelings that make even her blush.Bryson Edwards has a secret he prefers buried in… (more)


Autumn Leaves: Chick-lit Anthology by Samantha Bond







Genre(s): Romance

Sometimes the end is just the beginning–Leaving Princess Kate by Samantha BondMark and Kate were the perfect couple, living the perfect life in their fairytale cottage, until it all went terribly wrong. Now Mark is certain Kate is going to leave him … but not if he leaves her first–Stolen Kisses by Carla CarusoShy journalist Misty wasn’t happy about leaving the bright lights of the city to follow an ageing rock band on tour. Then she met handsome photographer Jesse, and now leaving him is the last thing on her mind–Run to You by Laura Greaves… (more)


Club Dishabille by Arden Aoide







Genre(s): Romance

Book OneSexytimes foisonner!-Marquis de SadeSpellbinding!-Giacomo CasanovaProtagonist is a bit old, but she’s got great tits.-Vladimir NabokovThis book has forking in it.-Ron Jeremy… (more)


Welcome to Paradise: A Reality Show Western Romance by Rosalind James







Genre(s): Romance

By the bestselling author of the Escape to New Zealand series–They’re going to party like it’s 1885.Mira Walker is hoping that competing on a “living history” reality show will give her what’s missing from her real life. Maybe she’ll get closer to her boyfriend, who hasn’t been all that nice to her lately. Get fired up about her job again. Who knows, she might even win a million dollars.Gabe Kincaid and his brother Alec are after that million too, though. Mira and Scott are no threat at all, not when everybody involved is going to want to… (more)


The Fall of Sky by Alexia Purdy







Genre(s): Thriller

Sisters Audrey and Liv Westing find that living on the edge turns out to be a bit different than what they thought.This singing duo hoped to be discovered as the next big thing while fumbling through their turbulent existences. Each one is struggling to come to terms with their addictive personalities, a trail of destructive relationships, and the consequences of every misstep they unknowingly take.When they attract the eye of a deadly but powerful Cartel family, Liv’s flighty decisions send the sisters spiraling into a world of sketchy music deals, sexy assassins and unfathomable demands from those who… (more)


Shadow Tag: A Ray Schiller Novel by Marjorie Doering







Genre(s): Mystery

A body is seated at the head of a conference table in the ACC boardroom in Minneapolis. A pearl-handled revolver is still clutched in the executive’s left hand–an entry wound in his left temple. The Board of Directors insists the company’s new president committed suicide.Paul Davis? Suicide? Detective Ray Schiller isn’t buying it. After twenty years of waiting to take over his late father-in-law’s company, why would Davis kill himself within twenty-four hours of succeeding? Ray knew the man from a recent case. He didn’t like Davis then or now, but he plans to… (more)


Finding My Prince Charming by J. S. Cooper







Genre(s): Romance

New from the New York Times Bestselling Author of The Ex Games & The Private ClubFinding My Prince Charming is book one of a three book contemporary romance series.Can a Playboy Prince ever be tamed? When Lola Franklin decided to study abroad she never anticipated embarking on a whirlwind weekend romance with a hot guy before classes started.And she certainly never counted on the hot guy being her new professor. Or a Prince. Or the biggest asshole she had ever met.Xavier Van Romerius is the playboy Prince of Europe and he loves his life. He doesn’t do… (more)


Brailling For Wile by James Zerndt







Genre(s): Contemporary Fiction

BRAILLING: Feeling the surface of a tile while your hand is in the bag in order to draw a blank or other specific letter. This is strictly forbidden. -from SCRABBLE’s Official GlossaryBrailling was something twelve-year-old Mattias Long learned to master during the games of Scrabble he used to play with his mother while they waited for his father, Wile, to close up the family restaurant. But now, one year after his father’s suicide, it’s Mattias who feels cheated. He hates his father. He hates him for leaving Mattias and his sister, Georgie, alone. He hates him for… (more)


All That Is Solid Melts into Air by Darragh McKeon







Genre(s): Historical

All That Is Solid Melts into Air is a gripping end-of-empire novel, charting the collapse of the Soviet Union through the focalpoint of the Chernobyl disaster. Part historical epic, part love story, it recalls The English Patient in its mix of emotional intimacy and sweeping landscape.In a run-down apartment block in Moscow, a nine-year-old piano prodigy practices silently for fear of disturbing the neighbors.In a factory on the outskirts of the city, his aunt makes car parts, trying to hide her dissident past.In the hospital, a leading surgeon buries himself deep in… (more)


Eluding Nirvana by V.L. Brock







Genre(s): Mystery

Due to the dark nature and content in this story, Eluding Nirvana is recommended to readers over the age of 18.***Three years lost; a body marred and a mission complete.Waking after a four day coma, Kady Jenson felt her life was crashing down around her. Three years of her memories were missing, and the compelling man at her side was not her years-long partner, but a stranger – a stranger who promised to help her recover what she had lost.But how did Kady come to such a place? What dark, mysterious events stole her past and threatened… (more)


The Serial Killer’s Wife by Robert Swartwood







Genre(s): Mystery

USA TODAY BestsellerFive years ago Elizabeth Piccioni’s husband was arrested for being a serial killer. Her life suddenly turned upside down, she did what she thought was best for her newborn baby: she took her son and ran away to start a new life.Now, living in a quiet part of the Midwest with a new identity, Elizabeth is ready to start over. But one day she receives a phone call from a person calling himself Cain. Cain somehow knows about her past life. He has abducted her son, and if Elizabeth wants to save him she must retrieve… (more)