Handpicked Kindle Books for Nov 20 Judged by Their Covers

Today’s Picks – Best Handpicked Kindle eBooks – Fantasy Friday

Here are our eBook picks for Friday, November 20. Today we’re featuring books in the fantasy/horror/sci-fi genres.


Tremor: If your world was falling apart, how far would you go to save it? by Ryan Mark







Genre(s): Sci-fi, YA

The life William knew has gone. His world has been left devastated by the Fossil War. All major governments have been wiped out and the land is now under the control of the company Terrafall. Although Terrafall’s intentions seem honest, William wonders if the company will live up to its promises and stop the tremors, which have been plaguing the Earth since the end of the war. And can Terrafall really find out who is behind the recent wave of abductions? When someone close to William disappears, he decides it’s time to take matters into his own hands. But in… (more)


Firebird by Kathy Tyers







Genre(s): Sci-fi

Her Death was Expected but Something More Powerful Kept Her AliveLady Firebird was born to the royal family of Netaia. Because of her birthplace in the family, however, her life is expendable. Honorable suicide is the highest calling she could hope to attain. When she is chosen to lead an attack on the neighboring planet of Veroh her death is expected. Instead she is taken prisoner during the battle and is held by the enemy.With her own people seeking her sacrifice, Firebird must choose between two worlds before she can carve out her new destiny. This is the… (more)


Architects of Destiny : An Epic Space Opera Series by Amy DuBoff







Genre(s): Sci-fi

Out of sight beyond Earth, the Taran empire spans the galaxy from its seat of power on Tararia.Cris Sietinen was born with rare telekinetic gifts — abilities he refuses to ignore, regardless of the governing Priesthood’s decrees. But, as heir to the most influential Dynasty on Tararia, only a stifled life of business and politics awaits him within the confines of his family’s estate. Determined to be true to himself and explore the potential of his abilities, Cris leaves Tararia to begin a new life touring the stars. When Cris unexpectedly receives an invitation to join the Tararian Selective Service… (more)


Dreamthief by Tamara Grantham







Genre(s): Paranormal

Visiting Faythander is a nasty business. Forget the fairies and unicorns, most people come back with lost memories and mental problems. Olive Kennedy knows. She’s the therapist who treats patients suffering from Faythander’s side effects. Despite her empty bank account, she takes pride in her job as Houston’s only Fairy World medical doctor. She’s never failed to cure a client–until now.Traveling back to Faythander wasn’t on Olive’s to-do list. But she has no choice. The fate of both Earth and Fairy depends on her ability to stop an ancient being called the Dreamthief. To complicate matters, she may… (more)


Glistening Haven: A Shape Shifting Dystopian Thriller by Jill Cooper







Genre(s): Sci-fi

Susan Monroe doesn’t ask for much: good grades from her children, a house with room for a pool, and to be the best Tupperware party host in New Haven 56.But inside her tranquil 1950s styled community, a monster lurks. A monster that lives inside Susan, and every one of her superficially perfect neighbors, held in check by the oppressive police state that rules over them.Susan’s happy life is torn apart when her teenage son goes missing the same night an explosion rips apart the community. Susan knows it’s only a matter of time before the police start breaking… (more)


The Way by Mary Twomey







Genre(s): Fantasy, YA

In a world not divided by race, creed or color, but by blood type, Blue Anders finds herself on the wrong end of fortune’s mercy. Born with a lesser blood type, Blue is raised in The Way, a work camp for A-bloods… (more)


The Bane by Keary Taylor







Genre(s): Sci-fi, Horror, YA

Before the Evolution there was TorBane: technology that infused human DNA with cybernetic matter. It had the ability to grow new organs and limbs, to heal the world. Until it evolved out of control and spread like the common cold. The machine took over, the soul vanished, and the Bane were born. The Bane won’t stop until every last person has been infected. With less than two percent of the human population left, mankind is on the brink of extinction.Eve knows the stories of the Evolution, the time before she wandered into the colony of Eden, unable to recall… (more)


The House of Many Worlds by Sam Merwin Jr.







Genre(s): Sci-fi

THE CLASSIC OF ALTERNATE EARTHS! Ancient, encrusted with legend, supposedly empty, the old mansion on Spindrift Key stood like a dark and lowering wraith. In this classic science fiction novel the New York Times called “a fast-moving adventure, told with engaging humor,” reporter Elspeth Marriner’s nose for news leads her into a world of trouble. Make that, in worlds of trouble. When she and photographer Mack Fraser, the man she loves to hate, are sent to investigate the old mansion in the Hatteras, they never dream that once inside their lives will never be the same. For the house… (more)


The City Beyond the Sands by Michael K. Rose







Genre(s): Sci-fi, Fantasy

When Will Kelly arrives in Dushara, he can tell he’s no longer on Earth. It may look like Earth, but people and animals from across history have been thrown together by some unknown force.He soon embarks upon a perilous journey, hoping to reach the legendary City Beyond the Sands which, if it exists, may hold clues to the mystery of Dushara and ultimately lead him home. Along the way, he will have to learn how to survive in a cruel land where men live — and often die — by the sword.THE CITY BEYOND THE SANDS is the first book… (more)


Blood and Satin by Amanda McCarter







Genre(s): Paranormal

Adelaide Hunter is a vampire. Only, she doesn’t know it yet. A high class escort for some of the city’s wealthier businessmen, she doesn’t have any delusions about what she does. She gets paid for sex, and she’s well paid.But when one of her clients winds up dead after a wild, kinky night with her, she’s in trouble. She’s pretty sure she killed him, but she can’t remember a thing. Can she figure things out before her new powers consume her? Or will the police close in before she even has a chance… (more)


Power of Shadow by Dean Chalmers







Genre(s): Fantasy

A young mage awakens to a potent power… A dark fantasy journey of magic, madness, and ancient prophecy begins.Phantist just wants to be an entertainer, earning his living with his shadow magic. But then, an ancient evil known as Earth Darkness declares war on the land. The dark lord’s allies have powerful war machines of a kind never seen before… And the enemy uses a combination of magic and technology to corrrupt life itself, creating monsters. Now, to save his people and his country, Phantist joins with an eccentric lightning-mage and a mysterious female soldier on a quest… (more)


Shadow of the Lizard – Part 1 by Randy Nargi







Genre(s): Thriller, Sci-fi

For fans of THE X-FILES, FRINGE, and JURASSIC PARK comes the LAND OF ENCHANTMENT–a thrilling new series from award-winning filmmaker and author Randy Nargi which combines action, adventure, unexplained phenomena, and cutting-edge science.When two teenagers go on a romantic hike in Albuquerque’s Sandia Mountains, they encounter terror beyond imagination and set in motion a dangerous and unforeseeable chain of events.If you enjoy the fiction of James Rollins, Douglas Preston, Michael Crichton, Matthew Reilly, or J.A. Konrath, check out the LAND OF ENCHANTMENT series… (more)


Kosmonaut Zero by Richard Evans







Genre(s): Sci-fi

A science fiction odyssey set in the retro-futurist Moscow of 1969.Marina Mernova, a KGB officer and older sister to little Leon, is given a simple mission: to find a missing scientist of high value to the Soviet space programme.1960s Russia is a land of rockets and shortages, a utopia with a paranoid underbelly – and Marina’s search uncovers a chilling experiment that will shatter the limits of humanity and longevity.The mission threatens to engulf her, tearing her family and her life apart, as the Cold War superpower seeks to create a new class of Soviet citizen… (more)


49 DAYS by Erik Hamre







Genre(s): Thriller, Sci-fi

When a washed up New Age psychologist from New York is being granted permission to start the first human DMT-trials since the early 1990s, something goes terribly wrong.The incident sets off alarm bells within a secret department of the CIA.On the opposite side of the world a passenger jet explodes mid-air. Against all odds there is a survivor. When the secret division of the CIA learns the identity of the lone survivor, they dispatch a team to apprehend her.The consequences of a highly secret black operation experiment, set in motion almost forty years earlier, is… (more)


Lazarus by Nik Papageorgiou







Genre(s): Sci-fi

In 2093, on a colonised planet, Homicide Inspector Paul Blake breaks under the strain of his son’s death and slits his wrists in a bathtub. After two days dead, he wakes up in a hospital without so much as a scratch. And life will never be the same again.A year later. Blake investigates the brutal murder of a woman who worked for the world’s most powerful organisation, the GCMRD. Soon after, a colleague of hers confesses to her murder and commits suicide.Still reeling from the events, Blake receives a mysterious call from someone who calls himself Lazarus, and… (more)