Handpicked Kindle Books for Oct 24 2018 Judged by Their Covers

Today’s Picks – Best Handpicked Kindle eBooks – October 24, 2018

Happy Wednesday, Shelfbuzzers. Here’s today’s list of handpicked books (all under $5 at the time of posting, some marked as free). Have a great day!


A Feral Darkness by Doranna Durgin

Shelfbuzz Score: 8.2 (out of 10)

Genre(s): Fantasy, Paranormal

As a child, dog-loving Brenna Fallon naively invokes an ancient Celtic deity to save her beloved hound–and inadvertently anchors the new-found power at a spring on her familys farm.She doesnt know shes also left an opening for a far more malevolent force.Years later, thanks to the actions of several angry young men, Brenna discovers the terrible potential of that gateway. With a devastating plague unfolding abruptly around her, she must depend on her wits, a stranger she doesnt trust, and a mysterious stray dog who becomes more than just a faithful companion as she struggles… (more)



The Dirty Parts of the Bible — A Novel by Sam Torode

Shelfbuzz Score: 8 (out of 10)

Genre(s): Historical

The Dirty Parts of the Bible is a humorous adventure across America during the Great Depression—a rollicking tale of love and liquor, preachers and prostitutes, trains and treasure, sure to appeal to fans of Water for Elephants, O Brother Where Art Thou? , Mark Twain, and Johnny Cash.Publishers Weekly says: “While the title suggests a raunchy read, this rich and soulful novel is actually a rather well-done coming-of-age story steeped in wanderlust and whimsy that at times recalls The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, and at others a tamer On the Road. The story begins in 1936… (more)



Texas Secrets: The Gallaghers of Morning Star by Jean Brashear

Shelfbuzz Score: 8 (out of 10)

Genre(s): Romance, Western, Free, Free

Up-and-coming chef Maddie Collins finds out that her fathers life was a lie when she is bequeathed a family homeplace she never knew existed–by the husband of the only woman her father ever loved. A former SEAL, sexy cowboy Boone Gallagher arrives back in Texas to discover that the father who drove him away has struck one last blow. The only place hes ever thought of as home now belongs to a woman who doesnt want it, and he must keep her there for thirty days–or it will be lost to them both… (more)



HUSBAND TRAINING SCHOOL by Ruth Harris

Shelfbuzz Score: 7.9 (out of 10)

Genre(s): Contemporary Fiction

Tougher than Harvard, more demanding than MIT, Husband Training School is the last hope of desperate wives who love their husbands but… Will Trailer is a super-achiever on the baseball diamond but at home? Not so much, according to Jessie Lynn Wessell, his gorgeous movie star wife.Efficiency expert Howard Hopkins has just retired. Edna Hopkins married him for better and for worse — but not for 24-hours-a-day.Gordo Canholme would procrastinate breathing if he could, but will he ever get the new baby’s room ready? Not without Husband Training School, according to tech executive Sissie Canholme… (more)



The Insiders by Craig Hickman

Shelfbuzz Score: 7.7 (out of 10)

Genre(s): Thriller

Wilson Fielder is an unsuspecting hero. A rising star at a prestigious management consulting firm, he has challenged more than a few overbearing corporate titans, but it is not until there is an attempt on his fathers life that he is forced to take it to the street.His father is none other than Charles Fielder, a brilliant businessman who founded an exclusive club of the worlds most powerful CEOs that has unparalleled perks such as limitless legal protection and unimaginable personal wealth, not to mention lavish retreats, sexual favors, and access to the worlds deadliest contract killers. It is… (more)



The Broken Saint: A Detectives Seagate and Miner Mystery by Mike Markel

Shelfbuzz Score: 7.7 (out of 10)

Genre(s): Mystery, Free

Seagate and Miner investigate the murder of Maricel Salizar, a young Filipino exchange student at Central Montana State. The most obvious suspect is the boyfriend, who happens to have gang connections. And then theres Amber, a fellow student whos obviously incensed at Maricel for a sexual indiscretion involving Ambers boyfriend. But the evidence keeps leading Seagate and Miner back to the professor, an LDS bishop who hosted her in his dysfunctional home. Seagate takes it in stride that the professor cant seem to tell the truth about his relationship with the victim, but her devout partner, Ryan Miner, believes that… (more)



GONE – Part One by Deborah Bladon

Shelfbuzz Score: 7 (out of 10)

Genre(s): Romance

Sending a half-naked picture to a stranger she met online, seems innocent and fun to Lilly Randall. After spending the past four years working towards an honors degree, she needs a distraction and flirting with a man she doesnt know cant hurt, right? Clive Parker is the one man who holds all of Lillys dreams in the palm of his hand. Hes the CEO of one of the worlds largest technology firms. When her picture ends up in his pocket, her future will never be the same again.She wants him to see her potential. He questions her motives… (more)



Leap of Faith by ML Rodriguez

Shelfbuzz Score: 6.4 (out of 10)

Genre(s): Romance

I met Jake when I was seventeen and at eighteen, I became his wife. The years that followed were enchanted, like a fairy tale romance.Then, in the blink of an eye, my perfect world unraveled–I lost a part of myself and my dreams shattered around me.At twenty-five, I was left a widow, pregnant, and mother of two.Fast forward almost five years–I exist but I dont “live”. I had to learn to live without him, with only our memories and my tears. I raised our children, and I lived his dream, without a thought to… (more)



Her Heart for the Asking, a Western Romance by Lisa Mondello

Shelfbuzz Score: 6.2 (out of 10)

Genre(s): Western, Romance, Free

Mandy Morgan swore shed never step foot in Texas again after Beau Gentry left her for life on the rodeo circuit eight years before. But now her uncles heart is failing and she has to convince him that surgery will save his life. She never dreamed the first thing shed see when she stepped off the plane would be her biggest nightmare…the one man shed never stopped loving.Beau Gentry had the fever for two things: the rodeo and Mandy Morgan. But for Beau, loving Mandy was complicated by his fathers vendetta against her uncle. This led him to… (more)



Willow Pond by Carol Tibaldi

Shelfbuzz Score: 5.7 (out of 10)

Genre(s): Historical, Mystery

As the Roaring Twenties crumble into the Great Depression, Virginia Kingsley, owner of New Yorks swankiest and most popular speakeasy, Bacchanal, learns her baby nephew has been kidnapped. Is she somehow involved? His movie star father and her niece must set aside their differences to work with Virginia and her shady contacts to find the stolen child. A Pulitzer Prize winning journalist who befriends the mother may hold a key to the mystery… (more)