Handpicked Kindle Books for Nov 26 2018 Judged by Their Covers

Today’s Picks – Best Handpicked Kindle eBooks – November 26, 2018

Happy Cyber Monday, Shelfbuzzers. Here’s today’s list of handpicked books (all under $5 at the time of posting, some marked as free). Also check out Amazon’s massive Cyber Monday sale with lots of live, limited-time deals. Enjoy!


Recurve by Shannon Mayer

Shelfbuzz Score: 9.5 (out of 10)

Genre(s): Fantasy

My name is Larkspur, and I am an Elemental. My people use the power of the earth to sustain life and defy our enemies. I should be at my father’s side as a royal princess. But as a half-breed, bastard child, that isn’t going to happen. I’ve been accused of attacking the queen, my wicked stepmother, and my life is suddenly on the line. I have only two options left to me: banishment, or training to become one of the King’s Elite Guards, an Ender. Option one will kill me. Option two is meant to break me, but it’s… (more)



Three Daughters: A Novel by Consuelo Saah Baehr

Shelfbuzz Score: 9 (out of 10)

Genre(s): Historical

From the fertile hills of a tiny village near Jerusalem to the elegant townhouses of Georgetown, Three Daughters is a historical saga that chronicles the lives, loves, and secrets of three generations of Palestinian Christian women.Born in rural Palestine, just before the dawn of the twentieth century, Miriam adores her father and is certain his love will protect her, but she soon finds that tradition overrides love. Uprooted by war, Miriam enters a world where the old constraints slip away with thrilling and disastrous results. Miriams rebellious daughter, Nadia, is thrilled with the opportunity for a modern life that… (more)



Secrets Hidden In The Glass: A Carter Island Novel by Cate Beauman

Shelfbuzz Score: 8.9 (out of 10)

Genre(s): Romance

The secrets of the past are always closer than we think… Stained glass artist Callie Davis is in desperate need of a vacation. Burnt out and on the edge of a nervous breakdown, she’s fleeing the pressures of her career and is taking refuge on Massachusetts’ tiny Carter Island. Callie yearns for long, lazy days and pretty walks on the beach — blessed solitude and an escape from the complications of her life. Then she bumps into gorgeous Nate Carter and everything changes. Sheriff Nathan Carter couldn’t be happier now that the height of the summer season has finally come and… (more)



Greenmantle by John Buchan

Shelfbuzz Score: 8.7 (out of 10)

Genre(s): Thriller, Historical

The sequel to The Thirty Nine Steps! Greenmantle is the second of five novels by John Buchan featuring the character of Richard Hannay. Hannay is called in to investigate rumors of an uprising in the Muslim world, and undertakes a perilous journey through enemy territory to meet his friend Sandy in Constantinople. Once there, he and his friends must thwart the Germans’ plans to use religion to help them win the war, climaxing at the battle of Erzurum.Greenmantle was a big success on initial publication in 1916. Alfred Hitchcock, who directed the first and most famous film adaptation of… (more)



Sea of Shadows by Jeff Edwards

Shelfbuzz Score: 8 (out of 10)

Genre(s): Thriller, Free

A minor accident at a German nuclear power plant, a Biological Warfare attack on the British Embassy in Washington, DC, and a secret arms deal combine to drive a trusted NATO Ally into an illegal alliance with a rogue Middle Eastern state. With the world hovering on the brink of war, a handful of U. S. Navy warships must track down and destroy a wolfpack of state-of-the-art submarines.Their enemy is skilled in deception, and incredibly lethal. Out-gunned, out-maneuvered, and out-thought, the U. S. Navy crews must throw the rulebook out the window, and… (more)



Invisible : A Novel by Lorena McCourtney

Shelfbuzz Score: 7 (out of 10)

Genre(s): Mystery

Shes not your average crime fighter!Meet Ivy Malone, an inconspicuous older woman who has a mutant curiosity gene that often lands her in trouble. Unlike most women her age, she snoops and pries her gray-haired self into one hilarious escapade after another. So when vandals romp through the local cemetery, Ivy cant help but put her snooping eyes to work as she launches her own unofficial investigation.Despite her unconventional sleuthing, Ivy soon becomes discouraged by her failure to turn up any solid clues. And after Ivy witnesses something ominous and unexplained, she cant resist putting her investigative… (more)



The White Queen of Middleham: An historical novel about Richard IIIs wife Anne Neville by Lesley Nickell

Shelfbuzz Score: 6.7 (out of 10)

Genre(s): Historical

For Anne Neville, a timid and delicate child, ignored by her mother, patronised by her elder sister and bullied by her formidable father Warwick the Kingmaker, her childhood friend Richard Plantagenet becomes a source of strength throughout her life.As she moves abruptly from castle to castle, from England to France, with Warwicks changing fortunes in the turbulent Wars of the Roses, Anne is a pawn in the dangerous games of political intrigue that she struggles to understand.The third son of the ambitious Duke of York, later King Richard III, is a hero in the eyes of the shy… (more)



Shadowline Drift: A Metaphysical Thriller by Alexes Razevich

Shelfbuzz Score: 6.7 (out of 10)

Genre(s): Thriller, Sci-fi

An Amazonian tribe that may or may not exist; a dangerous teenage sorceress; a beautiful anthropologist – and madness – conspire to stop Jake Kendricks from revealing the truth about a mysterious substance that will end world hunger.Reality and illusion collide in this fast-paced fantasy thriller in the vein of Lost and Inception… (more)



A Shot in the Bark:A Dog Park Mystery by C. A. Newsome

Shelfbuzz Score: 6.5 (out of 10)

Genre(s): Mystery, Free

Would you recognize a serial killer if you talked to one every day? Artist Lia Anderson doesnt, and neither does anyone else who frequents the Mount Airy Dog Park. But a violent death brings Detective Peter Dourson into the close-knit group, and he is convinced someone is not who they seem. As the investigation uncovers secrets, Lia struggles to cope with warring emotions while a killer watches and plans… (more)



Amish Romance: Roses Responsibility: Inspirational Clean Romance by Emma Cartwright

Shelfbuzz Score: 6.5 (out of 10)

Genre(s): Romance

Also available on Kindle Unlimited – This series can be read in any orderThree out of the four Springer sisters are courting. Lily’s wedding is quickly approaching, and Daisy and Iris are blissfully happy with their beaus. Rose rejoices for all of them, but sometimes has to resist the urge to feel envious. Marriage is not for her. She has the bakery to run. With her parents gone for nearly three years, Rose has become accustomed to their absence on one level, but the hole that her father left never quite closed. Doing the work he left behind has helped in… (more)